This Forum is Closed
April 18, 2024, 07:45:07 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: GGF now has a permanent home: http://forum.globalgulag.com

Home Help Search Links Staff List Login Register  

The American Diner as the Perferct Setting for Sci-Fi/Horror Fiction

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: The American Diner as the Perferct Setting for Sci-Fi/Horror Fiction  (Read 1735 times)
Bad Penny

View Profile
« on: July 25, 2011, 02:06:34 pm »

Right now I see myself as being in competition with the greatest writer in the history of my beloved and ancient city of Providence, Rhode Island, USA., that being, of course, the great Howard Phillips Lovecraft.  This is not to say that I am claiming to be his equal (hey, I know I'm a crap writer compared to him), but I still think I can stake a certain claim as his runner-up by trying my best with one of the greatest (and spookiest) American institutions: the traditional American diner.

For those of you non-Americans who may not know what a diner is, allow me to explain that it's a small restaurant, whose design is based upon that of a railroad dining car, which serves such classic American meals as hot open-faced turkey sandwiches with a side of cranberry sauce, cheeseburgers deluxe with a side of fries, and, for dessert, pies of all kinds, particularly banana cream pie topped with a huge pile of meringue.

Here's a floorplan of a typical diner: